top of page
Sahaja Yoga Mediation New York, New Jersey, Connecticut
What is Sahaja Yoga Meditation?

Sahaja Yoga is a meditation technique developed by Shri Mataji. Sahaja means born with you and Yoga means union with the divine." Sahaja Yoga is a natural and spontaneous process that gently transforms us from within, enabling us to manifest and express positive human qualities and to enjoy the peace and bliss described in all the scriptures. Sahaja Yoga is an inner revolution that brings about the transformation of human beings into spiritual beings who gradually manifest sublime qualities of compassion, generosity, and detached, unselfish love, and who live in a progressively profound state of bliss and inner peace. It is a living process and a gradual transformation of our awareness, not a mental projection or a concept.

The Subtle System
Sahaja Yoga Mediation New York, New Jersey, Connecticut

The human subtle system is vastly intricate, made up of thousands of channels,-which carry energy throughout the body. The concentrations of the energy in the subtle system (the parasympathetic nervous system) are called "chakras" in Sanskrit or "energy centers."

They are called chakras (wheels) because energy spins at these points, rotating clockwise at a certain frequency. There are seven main chakras that are located along the spinal cord and are reflected in various parts of our bodies. Each chakra is designed to supervise and maintain the perfect operation of the bodily systems under its control.

The entire system is governed by three primary vertical channels of energy ("Nadis" in Sanskrit) and by seven main chakras. Our subtle system is fully activated only with the awakening of the Kundalini, which cleans and balances the entire system and enlightens the pure qualities of the chakras within us. The activation of our subtle system, also called “Self-Realization,” occurs spontaneously for most people in the very first experience of Sahaja Yoga Meditation.


Every thought and action influences the sensitivity and performance of these subtle centers. The seven centers that exist within us are presented in the chart on the right.

In a short period, with regular practice of Sahaja Yoga Meditation, our innate qualities of confidence, compassion, joy and peace become strengthened. Our physical ailments reduce or heal. Our heart opens and we feel a deep sense of security. Our attention becomes pure, stable and positive.

bottom of page